The minimum wage rate in Rhode Island is $6.15 per hour. Minors 14 and 15 years old must be paid no less than 75 percent of the minimum wage for 24 or less hours of work. However, any minor who works more than 24 hours in a workweek for any one employer must be paid the adult rate.
Most employers are covered by Rhode Island's minimum wage law. Exclusions
include individuals employed in (1) domestic service, (2) federal employment,
(3) activities of educational, religious or nonprofit organizations where
employer/employee relationship does not exist, or where services are rendered
voluntarily, (4) individuals employed to deliver newspapers, shine shoes,
caddie, set pins in a bowling alley, usher in theaters; (5) traveling or outside
salespersons; (6) persons under 18 performing services for their family; (7)
employees working between May 1 and October 1 in resort establishments serving
meals to the general public and open for not more than six months a year; and
(8) seasonal work in organized camps.