California Minimum Wage Law

The minimum wage for all occupations in California is $6.25 per hour, effective January 1, 2001. For 2002, the minimum wage increases to $6.75 per hour. Higher minimums apply to city contractors in Los Angeles and Oakland. All employees are covered by wage orders except outside sales personnel.